Countries Committing Unauthorized Fishing

The US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) identified 6 countries that engage in illegal fishing. Colombia, Ecuador, Italy, Panama, Portugal and Venezuela were all found to be committing unauthorized activities when it comes to fishing. Illegal fishing activities included fishing during closed sessions, using illegal driftnet, and fishing without proper authorization.

Source: Morgan Erikson-Davis, “Italy and Panama continue illegal fishing, says new report,”, January 15, 2011.